By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
79th annual 4-H Achievement Celebration
agri lgp unruhcolumnpic
Kansas Farm Credit Associations sponsor the 4-H Key Award, the highest award in 4-H. Left to Right: Bonny Boultinghouse, Cami Bright(representing High Plains Farm Credit), Desmond Noah and Tiffany Schneider.

Barton County 4-H members were honored for their accomplishments at the 79th annual 4-H Achievement Celebration. The theme was “Make a Splash with 4-H”. Sarah Niederee, 4-H Council President and Bonny Boultinghouse, 4-H Council Vice-President served as the emcees. Caleb Maneth, Council Treasurer led the members in the Flag Salute and 4-H Pledge. Morgan Kaiser, Council Secretary introduced the special guests.
The Kansas 4-H Key Award is the most prestigious award that a 4-H member can earn. Candidates must have exhibited outstanding contributions in leadership, citizenship, community service. In simple terms, it recognizes 4-H members who have lived up to the high ideals expressed by the 4-H Club Pledge. The recipients of the 2013 Key Awards were Bonny Boultinghouse, Desmond Noah and Tiffany Schneider. The awards were presented by Cami Bright, representing High Plains Farm Credit in Larned.
All 4-H clubs earned their purple seal status. The 4-H clubs are Barton County 4-H Horse Club (BCHC), Busy Buzzers (BB), Ellinwood Energizers (EE), Great Bend City Slickers (GBCS),
The Cloverbud 4-H members receiving certificates were Parker Dicks, Kylie McCormick and Clarise Snapp, Busy Buzzers; Cayman Rowan, Ellinwood Energizers; Abigail Miller, Eureka Homesteaders; Conner Scheck, Nicole Rziha and Analeah Ochs, Great Bend City Slickers, Kamden Tarlton and Gabby Reif, Hoisington Jets; Cadin Spore, Sharpshooters; Chase Ellis, South Bend Jolly Workers; Rynn Harmon, Barton Co. Horse Club. Cloverbud members are 5 and 6 year olds and are eligible for 4-H membership when they are seven years old by January 1 of the current 4-H year.
All 4-H members have the opportunity each year to work towards earning an achievement pin. The series of nine achievement pins increases in difficulty each year. Those receiving first year membership pins were Haley McCormick, BB; Lily Hoskins, Augustus and Woodson Corbett, Caylee and Cadin Rowan, EE.
Bronze Pin recipients were Rebekah and Thomas Harmon, BCHC; Grace Hoskins and Alaina Straub, EE; Hailey Hicks and Kyle Rziha, GBCS; Mallory Reif, HJ; Coryn and Dylan Reif, SBJW.
Clover Pin recipients were Sarah Hammeke and Ryan Niles, EE; Anthony Moshier, HJ.
Emerald Pin winners were Dalton Dicks, BB; Alexa Straub,EE; Nicolas Long and Johnelle Moshier, HJ;  Mathew Hicks, Emma Reif, Tyler Reif, SBJW;  Molly and Morgan Kaiser, TLC Twisters.
Silver Pin recipients were BrayLynn Anshutz, BB; Luke Wondra, EE; Logan Evers, TLC.
Silver Guard recipients were BreAnn Anshutz,BB; Audrey Likes,GBCS; Katherine Hicks, SBJW.
Leadership Pin winners were Payton Mauler,BB; Kirk Reisner, HJ; Heather Schneider,TLC.
Receiving the Gold Pin were Betsy Snell, EE; Brinttain Noah, HJ.
Gold Guard recipients were Hannah Mauler, BB; Jenna Snell and Cody Wondra, EE.
Yearly membership pin winners were Kayleigh Bitter, Kayla Reisner, Desmond Noah and Michael MacMahon, all from Hoisington Jets 4-H Club.
Barton County Project Award Winners are determined by their work in the project. On the Kansas Award Portfolio application, youth report their goals set and their work accomplished in project, leadership and citizenship work. The junior division is age 7 to 13 years of age.  Senior division is age 14 and older and top winners are eligible to advance to area judging. Following are the Barton County Award project winners: Junior Beef: Luke Wondra, EE and Dalton Dicks, BB, Honorable Mention; Senior Clothing & Textiles: Heather Schneider, TLC and BreAnn Anschutz, BB, Honorable Mention; Junior: BrayLynn Anschutz, BB; Senior Dog Care & Training: Kayleigh Bitter, HJ and Tiffany Schneider, HJ, Honorable Mention. Junior: Augustus Corbett, EE.; Junior Energy Management: Tyler Reif, SBJW.; Junior Fiber Arts: Alexa Straub, EE.; Senior Foods & Nutrition: Kayleigh Bitter, HJ and Betsy Snell, EE, Honorable Mention; Junior:  Dalton Dicks, BB and Emma Reif, SBJW, Honorable Mention; Junior Geology: Ryan Niles, EE; Senior Home Environment: Kayleigh Bitter, HJ; Senior Leadership:  Kayleigh Bitter, HJ and Heather Schneider, TLC, Honorable Mention; Senior Performing Arts: Kayleigh Bitter, HJ; Senior Pets: Tiffany Schneider, HJ; Senior Photography: Kayleigh Bitter, HJ and BreAnn Anshutz, BB, Honorable Mention; Junior: Dalton Dicks, BB, and Ryan Niles, EE, Honorable Mention; Senior Plant Science:  Logan Evers, TLC and Kayleigh Bitter, HJ, Honorable Mention.  Junior: Audrey Likes, GBCS; Senior Poultry: Heather Schneider, TLC; Junior Rabbits: Dalton Dicks, BB and Alaina Straub, EE, Honorable Mention; Senior Reading: Kayleigh Bitter, HJ. Junior: Dalton Dicks, BB and Emma Reif, SBJW; Junior Self-Determined: Dalton Dicks, BB and BrayLynn Anschutz, BB, SBJW, Honorable Mention; Junior Shooting Sports: Dalton Dicks, BB; Junior Space Tech: Dalton Dicks, BB; Senior Swine: Cody Wondra, EE, and Hannah Mauler, BB, Honorable Mention. Junior: Luke Wondra, EE; Senior Visual Arts:  Kayleigh Bitter, HJ and Heather Schneider, TLC, Honorable Mention; Junior: Emma Reif, SBJW and Woodson Corbett, EE, Honorable Mention; Junior Wildlife: Ryan Niles, EE; Junior Wood Science: Tyler Reif, SBJW; Top Club Secretary Book: BreAnn Anshutz, BB and Kayleigh Bitter, HJ, Honorable Mention; Top Club Treasurer Book: Cody Wondra, EE and Desmond Noah, HJ, Honorable Mention; Top Club Reporter Book: Audrey Likes, GBCs; Top Club Historian Book: Emma Reif, SBJW.
Farm Bureau supports leadership activities for young people and this year they provided recognition for those who served as 2013 4-H camp counselors at Rock Springs Ranch.  Shane Dicks representing Barton County Farm Bureau recognized Jacob Durrett, Caleb Maneth, Colin Miller and Alexis Woods. First year counselors were Kayleigh Bitter, Mikey Hughes, Desmond Noah, Heather Schneider and Betsy Snell.  
Berny Unruh is the 4-H and Youth Development Extension agent in Barton County.  She is a guest columnist for the Great Bend Tribune.  She can be reached at 620-793-1910 or at