By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
4-Hers celebrate achievements
Placeholder Image

Barton County 4-H members were honored for their accomplishments at the 78th-annual 4-H Achievement Celebration. The theme was “Rock and Roll with 4-H”. Sarah Niederee, 4-H Council President and Bonny Boultinghouse, 4-H Council Vice-President served as the emcees. Morgan Kaiser, 4-H Council Secretary led the members in the Flag Salute and 4-H Pledge.
    The Kansas 4-H Key Award is the most prestigious award that a 4-H member can earn.  Candidates must have exhibited outstanding contributions in leadership, citizenship, community service. In simple terms, it recognizes 4-H members who have lived up to the high ideals expressed by the 4-H Club Pledge. The recipients of the 2012 Key Awards were Kayla Reisner, Jenna Snell and Kaitlyn Wondra.  The awards were presented by Dustin Hattrup, representing American AgCredit in Larned.
    Cloverbud 4-H members receiving certificates were Parker Dicks, Busy Buzzers; Lily Hoskins and Caylee Rowan, Ellinwood Energizers; Ally Karst and Abigail Miller, Eureka Homesteaders; Conner Scheck, Great Bend City Slickers; Myona Spencer-Neal, Hoisington Jets; Cylie LaTourell and Callie Schartz, TLC Twisters. Cloverbud members are 5 and 6 year olds and are eligible for 4-H membership when they turn seven years old.
     All 4-H members have the opportunity each year to work towards earning an achievement pin. The series of nine achievement pins increases in difficulty each year. Those receiving first year membership pins were Hailey Hicks, Grace Hoskins, Alaina Straub, MaryAnn Whaley, Denver Whaley and Tyra Thompson.
Bronze Pin recipients were Sarah Hammeke, Isaac Mountain, Ryan Niles, Grace Grandclair, Madison Grandclair and Anthony Moshier.
Clover Pin recipients were Dalton Dicks, Alexa Straub, Nicolas Long, Johnelle Moshier, Mathew Hicks, Emma Reif, Tyler Reif, Karly Brungardt, Molly Kaiser, Morgan Kaiser, Kaitlin Adams and Parker Smith.  
Emerald Pin winners were BrayLynn Anshutz, Jade Mountain, Jordan Davis Mountain, Jordan Lee Mountain, Luke Wondra, Michael MacMahon.
Silver Pin recipients were BreAnn Anshutz, Mikey Hughes, Audrey Likes and Katherine Hicks. Silver Guard recipients were Payton Mauler, Nicole Likes and Heather Schneider.
Leadership Pin winners were Betsy Snell and Anna Frizell. Receiving the Gold Pin were Hannah Mauler, Jenna Snell, Cody Wondra and Kayleigh Bitter. Gold Guard recipients were Desmond Noah and Tiffany Schneider.  
Those who applied for and received the yearly membership pin were Calista and Ellis Long, Colin Miller, Jacob Durrett, Brinttain Noah, Kirk and Kayla Reisner.
Barton County Project Award Winners are determined by their work in the project.  On the Kansas Award Portfolio application, youth report their goals set and their work accomplished in project, leadership and citizenship work. The Barton County Award project winner in Beef was Dalton Dicks, Busy Buzzers and Cody Wondra, Ellinwood Energizers was alternate. Emma Reif, South Bend Jolly Workers was the Bucket Calf award winner. In the Clothing & Textiles project the winner was BreAnn Anshutz and alternate was BrayLynn Anshutz, Busy Buzzers 4-H Club.
The Dog Care & Training project winner was Kayleigh Bitter, Hoisington Jets and alternate was Tiffany Schneider, Hoisington Jets. The Fiber Arts project award goes to Alexa Straub, Ellinwood Energizers. Tyler Reif, South Bend Jolly Workers was named Energy Management award winner.
The Foods & Nutrition project winner was Kayleigh Bitter, and alternate was Betsy Snell, Ellinwood Energizers. Geology project winner was Ryan Niles, Ellinwood Energizers. Health & Wellness was awarded to Jade Mountain and alternate was Jordan Mountain, Ellinwood Energizers.
Leadership project award was given to Kayleigh Bitter, and alternate was Tiffany Schneider. Katherine Hicks, South Bend Jolly Workers was the Meat Goat project winner. In Performing Arts, Kayleigh Bitter was named champion and Jade Mountain was alternate. Tiffany Schneider was named the winner in the Pets project.         
Photography project champion was Kayleigh Bitter and alternate was BreAnn Anshutz. In Plant Science, Audrey Likes, Great Bend City Slickers was named champion and Kayleigh Bitter was alternate. Rabbit project award went to Mathew Hicks, South Bend Jolly Workers and alternate was Dalton Dicks.        
In the Reading project, Dalton Dicks was named champion and Kayleigh Bitter was alternate. Dalton Dicks was also named Shooting Sports project winner. Luke Wondra, Ellinwood Energizers was named award winner in both Space Tech project and Swine Project.
Visual Arts project winner was Kayleigh Bitter and alternate was BrayLynn Anshutz.
Wildlife project champion was Ryan Niles and Wood Science award was given to Tyler Reif.
Top club secretary book was awarded to Kayleigh Bitter and Josh Crawford, Great Bend City Slickers was named alternate.  The top club treasurer book award was given to Jeffrey Kaiser, Eureka Homesteaders and Desmond Noah, Hoisington Jets was named alternate.
Farm Bureau supports leadership activities for young people and this year they provided recognition for those who served as 2012 4-H camp counselors at Rock Springs Ranch.  Bill Bercheck representing Barton County Farm Bureau recognized Jacob Durrett, Alexis McPherson and Caleb Maneth and Colin Miller.    
 Berny Unruh is the 4-H and Youth Development agent in Barton County.  She is a guest columnist for the Great Bend Tribune.  She can be reached at 620-793-1910 or at