By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Barton County personnel honored as Roads Scholars
new deh county commission roads scholar pic web
The Barton County Commission Monday recognized several Road and Bridge Department personnel for completing Kansas Roads Scholar Program level II training. Honored were Gary Demel, Mick Lang, Mike Moos and Stan Behrends (in dark shirts in the center). Also pictured are commissioners Don Davis, Homer Kruckenberg, Kenny Schremmer, Jennifer Schartz, Road and Bridge Director Dale Phillips, Kansas Association of Counties local road engineer Norm Bowers and Commissioner Alicia Straub. In all, the commission honored 11 Road and Bridge staff members for KRSP level I and level II completion. - photo by DALE HOGG Great Bend Tribune

Several Barton County Road and Bridge Department personnel were honored by the County Commission Monday morning for furthering their education. They received certificates marking their completion of the Kansas Association of Counties’ Roads Scholar Program.
“You guys are very dedicated,” said Norm Bowers, KAC local road engineer of the county’s commitment to promoting training. Only two other of the 105 Kansas counties have more program graduates.
In all, 11 Barton County employees earned recognition. This is a big deal since the care of roads is important to motorist safety and the county’s bottom line, Bowers said.
Bowers said the program provides training to increase knowledge of road maintenance procedures and improve technical, supervisory and managerial skills. It enhances skills and knowledge of operators as well as those who supervise others, or aspire to management in public works operations.
There were four certificates presented to staff members receiving level II certification. This is a supervisory skills program.
These were Gary Demel, shop foreman, Mick Lang, asphalt foreman, Mike Moos, grading and construction foreman and Stan Behrends, assistant grading and construction foreman.
In addition, these four plus Alan Baxter, Bob Conrad, Melvin Craven, Aaron Delgado, Eric Johnson, Kevin Jonas and Steve Miller were honored for earning level I certification. This is a technical skills program with a goal to enhance the knowledge of general public works maintenance and construction methods, safety practices, and local government organization as it applies to the direct delivery of quality public service.
Training for the Roads Scholar Program is provided by the Local Technical Assistance Program, KAC, American Public Works Association and Kansas Department of Transportation.