By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Barton's got talent
Student artists featured at Shafer Gallery
loc B1 slt blue frog
"Blue Frog," colored pencil, by Vicki Richardson; First place, pastel & charcoal.

The Barton Community College Student Juried Art Exhibition opened May 1 featuring students’ work. Juror for the exhibit, Micky Yalg, art professor at Fort Hays State University, judged the show and awarded ribbons recognizing the quality of the students’ work.

The students received their awards at the opening reception May 1 in the gallery. The exhibit will continue through Friday, May 13.

Following is a list of award recipients:

2D Best of Show – Kaitlin Ptacek, "Freedom," oil, $100 Mary Fox Memorial Award; Dudek Faculty Select Award.

3D Best 0f Show – Steve Carney, "Shavano’s Song," ceramic, $100 Shafer Gallery Award.

Director’s Award – Leona Kasselman, "Sunbathing," acrylic.

Traditional Acrylic and Oil Painting – Becky Miller, first, "Twisted Love," oil, $50 American State Bank Savings Bond; Alissa Byerly, second, "Fatum un Fortuna," acrylic, $25 Credit Union of America Savings Bond; Deborah Clothier, "Primal Collage," oil, Dudek Faculty Select Award.

Non-traditional Acrylic and Oil Painting – Rose Dudek, first, "Taos," oil, $50 Don and Barbara Beahm Award; Billie Bonomo, second, "Badlands in the Spring," oil; Kathy Murray, third, "Untitled," oil.

Traditional Watercolor Painting – Jessica Siefers, first, "Winter Sunset," $50 Farmers Bank and Trust Savings Bond; Sarah Jones, second, "Antique Picture of a Cat"; Amanda Trujillo, third, "Ripple," Dudek Faculty Select Award.

Non-traditional Watercolor Painting – Diane Engle, first, "Faith and Freedom," $50 Great Bend Tribune Award; Herbert Harms, second, "Morning Glories"; Paula Davies, third, "Dr. Schatten’s House."

Pastel and Charcoal – Vicki Richardson, first, "Blue Frog," colored pencil, $50 Feldt Award; Leona Kasselman, second, "Statue of Liberty," pastel, Dudek Faculty Select Award; Melissa Demel, third, "Love and Peace," colored pencil.

Traditional Photography/Graphics – Jessica Siefers, first, "Welder at Work," photograph, $50 Donald and Nadine Schloemer Award; Emily Seiwert, second, "Murky Reflections," photograph, $25 Credit Union of America Savings Bond; Amanda Trujillo, third, "Memories," photograph.

Non-traditional Photography/Graphics – Diane Engle, first, "Pittsburg PA," photograph, $50 Eagle Communications Award; Karole Erikson, second, "The Great Sand Dunes CO," photograph; Bill McKown, third, "Passion," photograph.

Ceramics – Sheryl Elliott, first, "Hydrangea Vase," $25 Credit Union of America Savings Bond; Jo Sherman, second, "Wheat"; Nancy Carter, tied for third, "Bachelor Button"; Jordan Seirer, tied for third, "Hungry Raccoon."

Non-traditional Ceramics – Don Cruse, first, "Garden Installation," $25 Pat and Marion’s Mat Shop Inc. Award; Esther Maher, second, "St. Justa’s Holy Bowl"; and Delores Baker, third, "Grape Vase."

All Shafer Gallery exhibits are presented in part by the Kansas Arts Commission, a state agency, and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.