By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cardinal debate and forensics team celebrates standings and secures spots for State
new_vlc_Hoisington debate pic.jpg
Pictured is the Hoisington High School team that competed at Kinsley, (front from left) Jarrett Shives, Brayden Copp, (back) Karen Lovett, Tyler Reif, Trevan Brown, Logan Hammeke, Cheyenne Martinz, Gabriel Hipp, Braxton Nicholas, Jayla Wyant, Victoria Luttrell, Maddy Mitchell, Heavin Hipp, Braydin PIland, and Isaac Burgess.

HOISINGTON — Forensics team members from Hoisington High School placed and medaled at Kinsley and Fort Scott meets recently.   

At Kinsley, Karen Lovett placed third in humorous solo acting, missing State by one place. Brayden Copp and Jarrett Shives placed fourth in improvised duet acting, qualifying for State. They also placed fifth in duet acting. Jayla Wyant placed sixth in extemporaneous speaking. 

As a team, the Cardinals placed fifth out of 12 schools.  

Other HHS Cardinals who contributed to the team totals were Trevan Brown, Victoria Luttrell, Gabriel Hipp, Heavin Hipp, Logan Hammeke, Isaac Burgess, Braxton Nicholas, Maddy Mitchell, Cheyenne Martinz, and Braydin Piland.  Tyler Reif was an alternate.

Other Cardinal team members participating at Kinsley included Jadynn Andereck, Christopher Collier, Elliott Copp, Lukas Fox, Hayden Gardner, Madison Grandclair, Max Gray, Cody Hoffman, Harlee Kuhn, Miquala Purscell, and Kyle Rogers.

Cardinal debaters finished the season recently by placing eighth at 3A 4-Speaker Debate at Fort Scott. Purscell, Luttrell, and Gardner debated on the negative side, while Collier, Brown, and Tyler Reif debated on the affirmative side. 

Following State, Coach Marion Oborny announced team awards. Purscell was named Outstanding Debater. Luttrell, Brown and Reif were Runners-Up Outstanding Debaters.

Outstanding Novice Debaters were Collier, Gardner and Piland. Runners-Up Outstanding Novice Debaters were Andereck and Emilee Baze.

Andereck, Brown, Collier, Gardner, Luttrell, Piland, Purscell and Reif earned letters.