By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
CPHS journalists win big at regional contests
edu lgp cphskspaawardspic
Courtesy photo Student journalist from Central Plains High School include, from left: Taylor Oeser, Avery Hurley, Rachel Lamatsch, Addison Crites, Alex Barton, Colton Potts and Adrianne Togersen.

LAWRENCE — The Kansas Scholastic Press Association announced the winners of the 2018 regional contests, which rewarded the best student journalism from among 2,500 entries gathered from around the state. Students from 81 schools competed in 19 different categories in 12 different classifications organized by geography and school size.
From Central Plains High School, the following students won awards: Colton Potts, 2nd Place, Yearbook Layout, Honorable Mention, Copy Editing, Honorable Mention, Cutline Writing; Avery Hurley, 1st Place, Headline Writing, 2nd Place, Yearbook Copy Writing, 3rd Place, News Writing; Alex Barton, 1st Place, Photo Illustration, 2nd Place, Editorial Cartoon, Honorable Mention, News Writing; Taylor Oeser, 2nd Place, Advertising; Rachel Lamatsch, 2nd Place, Infographics, 3rd Place, Theme Development & Graphics (Team with Addison), 5th Place, Sports Photography, 3rd Place, Yearbook Sports Writing; Addison Crites, 3rd Place, Theme Development & Graphics (Team with Rachel), 3rd Place, Sports Writing; Adrianne Togersen, 1st Place, Infographics, Honorable Mention, Copy Editing
Six university campuses throughout Kansas hosted the contests Feb. 22 and 23. This year Central Plains High School competed at the FHSU location.
“We consider the regional contests to be one of our most important annual events both for students to receive feedback on their work and also for students to compete with one another,” said Eric Thomas, KSPA executive director. “Teachers who organize and enter their students into the contest give their students a great opportunity to see how their work compares to the work of others.”
KSPA enlists the help of journalism teachers, professional journalists, university faculty members and other journalism experts to judge the entries.
Any student who earns an award in the regional contest advances to the KSPA State Contest on May 5 at the University of Kansas.