By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
First United Methodist Church announces 2015-2016 scholarships established and presented through the
Placeholder Image

Olivia Blackwell was the recipient of the Dan and Jean Swartz Scholarship. Dan was superintendent of schools from 1953-1972. This scholarship is to be used at any accredited college or university.
The George and Doris Penner Scholarship was awarded to Taylor Vratil. It is to be used by a student enrolled in a technical or trade school, community college or university.
Jordan Stoulil received the Anol W. Beahm Scholarship. Dr. Beahm practiced in Great Bend for many years. The scholarship is awarded to an applicant with a firm Christian belief, attend KU and major in the medical field.
The Richard C. Brining Scholarship was awarded to Alex Snyder and Katie Schlochtermeier. These two recipients graduated from a Barton County high schools and plan to major in education, attending a Kansas college or university. In addition they exhibit good character and have exhibited financial need and merit.
A scholarship, in memory of Charley C. Byers, was established through a memorial fund for a member of the church who exhibits merit and financial need. Rachel Carpenter was this year’s recipient.
Quinton Elliott was awarded the Clifford and Pauline Getz Scholarship. Clifford was instrumental in the establishment of CKMC and served as the director of development for many years. The scholarship is awarded to a student(s) entering nursing or other health related field and is renewable through graduate school.
The Henry and Jennie Fanshier Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a Barton or Stafford County graduating senior who has shown good citizenship and character and will be attending any accredited college or university. Shelby Deist received this award.
The following students received this year’s H.H. and Jennie Kopke Scholarships: Jahtziri Lara, Rane Libeer, Aubrey Manneth, Heather Schneider, Christie Stark, Bryan Vasquez, and Taylor Vratil. These graduates exemplify a genuine desire for an education, financial need and promise to make a contribution to their community.
Malia Clark received the John and Charlotte Henry Scholarship. John Henry was a long time principal at Eisenhower School and Charlotte was an elementary teacher at Morrison School. The scholarship is given to a student who has a desire for post-secondary education.
The Stene-Reinhardt Memorial Scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate an interest in a college education and a desire to make a future contribution to their respective community. Those receiving this scholarship are: Michala Bieker, Olivia Blackwell and Rachel Carpenter.