By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Forty-one students join Mortar Board chapter
Placeholder Image

Forty-one students were inducted as members of the Ichabod Chapter of the National Senior Honor Society of Mortar Board at Washburn University. Also inducted as honorary members were William Beteta, executive director, Heartland VIsioning, and Rick Ellis, director, Center for Community Service and professor, School of Applied Studies.
Mortar Board Inc. is a national honor society which recognizes college seniors for distinguished ability and achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Founded in 1918 as the first national organization honoring senior college women, the Society opened its membership to men in 1975. Since 1918, more than 240,000 college students have been initiated into Mortar Board.
 The 2011-12 Ichabod Chapter officers are: Danyl Chapman, president; Shaun Moore, vice president; John Henderson, secretary; David Hrabik, treasurer; Daphne Phillips, director, communications; Richard Kelly, historian; Rachel Howard, director, membership; Courtney Wallman, director, alumni; and Anna Henry, webmaster.
Local initiate of the new chapter is Jane Billinger, history, of Ellinwood.