By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GBHS students awarded local, county scholarships

Great Bend High School’s Senior Awards/Scholarship program was held Wednesday, May 10, at the GBHS Auditorium.
This year 64 seniors applied for local and county scholarship awards, said Lacy Wolters, ACT/career coordinator at Great Bend High School. They were awarded a combined amount of more than $48,000.
“With renewable scholarships, this total is over $143,000,” Wolters said. “This does not include the scholarships students received from their universities or on their own. We are very blessed by our community.”

Local Scholarships
Students can win only one local scholarship
American Legion Post 180, Taylor Hommertzheim
American Legion Post 180 - Robert Larson Family, Allison Regehr
Dan and Jean Swartz (FMC), Madison Otter
Dirty Dozen Class of 1972, Gladis Arellanes
Erma and Luther Moore, Keely Ireland
George and Dorris Penner (FMC), Darien Sanchez
Gertrude Lischesky PEO, Ashtin Heath
GB Evening Lions, Garrett Kennedy
GBHS Class of 1971, Cory Burnham
GB Firefighters Social & Charity, Wyatt Rugan
GBHS Kayettes, Taryn Morgan
GBHS Kayettes, Allison Neeland
GB Masonic Lodge #15, Mollie Hestand
GB Masonic Lodge #15, Kira Cook
GBNEA, Aaron Miller
GB Noon Kiwanis, Grant Smith
GB Noon Kiwanis, Kaitlin Adams
GB Noon Lions, Dawson Clark
GB Optimist Club, Allison Stocker
GB Optimist Club - Ag, Payton Mauler
GB Rotary Club - Charles Lischesky, Konner Ireland
Jack E Bell (KSU), Tristan Mitchell
Jefferson PTO, Madyson Hayden
Park PTA, Keaton Reneau
Prince of Peace, Morgan Kaiser
Prince of Peace, Aubrey Habash
VFW Auxiliary, Makayla Lofland
Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #23, Nick Reed
Jean Cavanaugh, Angelica Escobedo
Jean Cavanaugh, Cristobal Luna Cuellar
Jean Cavanaugh, Marcos Martinez
Jean Cavanaugh, Jennifer Ramirez
Jean Cavanaugh, Anna Rodriguez
Jean Cavanaugh, Braulio Vargas
Jean Cavanaugh, Eric Vazquez
Jean Cavanaugh, Karen Villalpando Razo

County Scholarships
There is no limit on the number of county scholarships a student can receive
American Petroleum Institute (API), Darien Sanchez; Daegen Davis
Barton County Association of Churches, Konner Ireland
Barton County Sheriff’s Reserve: F. Duane Dugan Memorial, Nick Reed
Charley Byers (FMC), Kaitlin Adams; Keely Ireland; Konner Ireland
Clifford & Pauline Getz (FMC), Dawson Clark; Desteny English; Ashtin Heath; Jennifer Ramirez; Allison Regehr; Braulio Vargas
Crimestoppers, Morgan Kaiser; Nick Reed
Dale Perry/Pheasants Forever, Logan Perry; Payton Mauler
Henry & Jennie Fanshier (FMC), Carly Dreiling
HH & Jennie Kopke (FMC), Emma Cape; Darien Sanchez; Eric Vazquez
Richard Brining (FMC), Emma Cape; Aaron Miller
Stone-Reinhardt (FMC), Kaitlin Adams; Keely Ireland; Konner Ireland
Great Bend Junior Rotarian, Ashtin Heath; Wyatt Rugan
Barton County Farm Bureau, Morgan Kaiser
Wheatland Electric, Ashtin Heath
Shelter Insurance, Ashtin Heath
Innovative Livestock Services (ILS), Mario Martinez

Great Bend Charitable Foundation
Archer Scholarship, Brooklyn Brookhart; Braulio Vargas
Frank W. Brinkman Memorial Scholarship, Ashtin Heath
Ryan Joseph Bealer Memorial Scholarship, Dorian Lueth
Carla M. Yahne Memorial Scholarship, Ashtin Heath
Cinco De Mayo of Barton County Scholarship, Samantha Montelongo
Ryan Hugh Dunlap Memorial Scholarship, Emma Cape
Ralph & Elinor Haneke Memorial Scholarship, Elsi Miller
Kansas State University Scholarship, Morgan Kaiser
Bill J. McKown Memorial Scholarship, Samantha Montelongo
Mingenback Family Scholarship, Allison Regehr
Paul J. Urban Memorial Scholarship, Carly Dreiling; Mollie Hestand; Aaron Miller; Allison Stocker
Ethel D. Holmes Scholarship , Emma Cape; Dawson Clark; Allison Regehr; Darien Sanchez