By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
KAY clubs earn gold awards
edu deh gbhs kay conference pic
Delegates attend KAY conference in Goddard and bring home the gold award - photo by COURTESY PHOTO

Ten members of the Great Bend High School Kays and 11 Kayettes attended the Area 6 KAY Regional Conference on Nov. 7 at Goddard High School. The clubs returned with the highest state award possible. The Kays and Kayettes each received the Gold Award, recognizing their student leadership and service to their school, community, nation and world for the 2010-2011 school year.
The Kansas Association for Youth (KAY) is a character-building, leadership training program directed by the Kansas State High School Activities Association. This nationally acclaimed organization provides students an opportunity to learn to assume their citizenship responsibilities and to enrich their personalities through well organized programs. These programs emphasize four areas of service: school, community, nation and world.
The theme for the 2011 Regional Conference was “The Power of One. This conference affords opportunities for student leaders and sponsors from neighboring clubs to share successes and challenges, as well as exchange ideas. Sessions in leadership training and organizational skills are also offered. These conferences inspire delegates to return to their clubs to challenge their local members.
 Local members attending the Regional Conference were:
Danen Levingston, Tristan Yount, Brady Buehler, Braden Jones, Morgan Gauby, Hannah Hildebrand, Holly Mosier, Sylvia Ofoma, Michaela Stephenson, Allan Clark, Lakin Hulse, Dylan Dreiling, Connor Sell, Tarynn Stueder, Kallie Peterson, Dakota Peterson, Taylor Hofeling, Natasha Bieker, Dallas Schmeidler, Hunter Harrison, and Chris Burley.
Accompanying the group were Tina Hiss, KAY sponsor, and Karen Clark and Barbara Harris, Kayette sponsors.