By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New academic year begins at FHSU with Fall Convocation
Placeholder Image

Returning faculty and staff will be welcomed back and new faculty and staff will be welcomed aboard at Fort Hays State University’s annual Fall Convocation, scheduled to begin at 10 a.m., Aug. 17.
This year’s convocation begins an hour later normal. FHSU President Edward H. Hammond begins the day out of town and returns to give his State of the University address at 11:30 a.m.
The convocation will begin with a welcome from University Provost Larry Gould. Dr. Chapman Rackaway, president of the Faculty Senate and an associate professor of political science, will give the senate’s welcome. Randy Kitzman, from the Building Maintenance Department and president of the Classified Senate, will also deliver welcoming remarks.
Gould will then give the address on academic affairs initiatives and introduce new faculty. Dr. Tisa Mason, vice president for student affairs, will introduce new staff in student affairs and Mike Barnett, vice president for administration and finance, will introduce new staff in that division.
Gould will announce the 2011 Faculty Member of the Year and the Edmund Shearer Advisor of the Year. He and Tom Thomas, president of Commerce Bank, will present the awards. Gould will also present Dr. Jeffrey Burnett, associate professor of health and human performance at FHSU, for his Outstanding Advising Award for faculty academic advising from the National Academic Advising Association.
After a refreshment break from 11 to 11:30 a.m., Hammond will introduce the theme of the year and announce the President’s Distinguished Scholar, the university’s highest faculty honor.