By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Political science department honors top students
Placeholder Image

The University of Kansas Department of Political Science honored its top students at its annual recognition ceremony April 29.
Thirty-three students were inducted into the Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, a national political science honor society. Criteria for induction include at least junior standing in political science and a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in all political science courses. Cumulative grade-point averages for undergraduates must be at least 3.4, for graduate students at least 3.5. No student may have a course grade lower than a B.
The political science department also presented cash awards with no restrictions and scholarships that provide tuition assistance. The awards and scholarships presented were:
— One Ethan P. Allen Pi Sigma Alpha Award to an outstanding graduating senior majoring in political science
— Two Emmett L. Bennett Scholarships to outstanding juniors majoring in political science
— One Eldon Fields Award to an outstanding senior majoring in political science
— 11 Elizabeth and Carl Gustafson Scholarships ranging from $400 to $1,000 to outstanding political science undergraduates
— One Joseph P. Harris Fellowship in the amount of $6,000 awarded to an outstanding doctoral student
— 13 Walter Thompson Scholarships, ranging from $1500 to $3,000, awarded to deserving political science students, both undergraduate and graduate
All of the scholarship funds are managed by KU Endowment, the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.
Local student recognized was Margarita Guadalupe Caulfield, Pre-Law Junior, Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society, of Russell.