By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Great Bend
Placeholder Image

Twenty-nine area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $3,900 at the Great Bend K-State Alumni Club alumni/student event Sept. 24 in Great Bend.
The recipients are Peter Krier, Claflin; Colton Churchill, Ansley Herzog, Andrea Klepper, Kyle Oglesbee, Brooke Panning, Taylor Schartz, Rachel Schloctermeier, Ellinwood; Amber Baker, Logan Evers, Jessica Freund, Alex Gruber, Hannah Hildebrand, Abigail Juarez, Taylor Latham, Madison Long, Sara McAfee, Dakota Peterson, Kallie Peterson, Devani Prieto, Alaycia Ryan, Brianna Schartz, Madison Unruh, Kory Walters, Nicholas Warren and Logan Zecha, Great Bend; Shynia Peterman, Lyons; Wyatt Neeland, Pawnee Rock; and Chad Hildebrand, Stafford.
 The scholarships were awarded by the Great Bend K-State Alumni Club, the K-State Alumni Association, Kansas State University President’s Office and the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship.
“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”
The scholarships are for the 2013-14 academic year. The K-State Alumni Association annually awards more than $245,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming.
There are more than 1,400 K-State alumni and friends in the Great Bend area.