By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
The University of Kansas Departement of Student Housing names 2010-2011 student leaders
Placeholder Image

The new leadership includes resident assistants and desk managers for KU’s eight residence halls, proctors and food board managers for 12 scholarship halls and top officers for the five university housing organizations.
“This is a special group of students who are selected to fulfill these important leadership roles,” said Diana Robertson, director of the Department of Student Housing. “Their balance of academic achievement and service to their fellow residents is an indicator of their character and motivation to help others. We are pleased that student housing can offer students both academic support and these type of leadership opportunities, and we’re thankful for their service.”
For the students chosen as live-in resident assistants, proctors, desk managers and food board managers, duties include serving as role models, handling administrative and programming duties and performing paraprofessional advisory functions for residents. Food board managers also coordinate menu planning and food purchasing for their assigned halls.
Housing organization officers are elected to represent their fellow student residents and organize and facilitate shared social, intellectual and cultural concerns and activities.
About 5,000 people live in KU student housing facilities. The top 1 percent of these students, based on community leadership, are eligible for membership in the KU chapter of the National Residence Hall Honorary.
Other student housing groups:
— The Association of University Residence Halls includes representatives from Corbin, Gertrude Sellards Pearson, Ellsworth, Hashinger, Lewis, McCollum, Oliver and Templin residence halls, which house single male and female students.
— The All Scholarship Hall Council comprises representatives from Douthart, Margaret Amini, Miller, Dennis E. Rieger, Sellards and Watkins scholarship halls for women and Battenfeld, Grace Pearson, Krehbiel, K.K. Amini, Pearson and Stephenson scholarship halls for men.
— Jayhawker Towers Tenants Association includes representatives from KU’s single-student apartment buildings.
— The Stouffer Neighborhood Association represents residents of Stouffer Place Apartments, which are designed to house students with families, graduate students and postdoctoral researchers. Students or nonstudent spouses are eligible to hold office in the association.
Local student leader is Jessica Lynn Denney, daughter of Sharon and Joseph Denney of Great Bend. She is a Resident Assistant for McCollum.