By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Fourth District counties among those approved for federal disaster aid
Barton among those listed
new slt estes
Ron Estes

WASHINGTON—Congressman Ron Estes (R-Kansas) announced today that several counties in the 4th District of Kansas have been approved for disaster aid by the Trump administration. Federal funding is available for damages caused by severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding in Cowley, Greenwood, Harvey, Kingman, Pratt and Sumner Counties from Oct. 4 to Oct. 15, 2018. Additional Kansas counties approved for aid are Anderson, Barton, Doniphan, Neosho, Reno and Rice.


“Strong storms throughout our state last October have left homes, farms and facilities damaged and in need of repair,” said. Rep. Estes. “I appreciate the Trump Administration for recognizing the extreme weather that resulted in a major disaster for our resilient Kansans and look forward to continuing to repair and replace structures that were impacted last year.”


The White House announced that federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storms. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by further damage assessments.


For further information, media should contact FEMA at (202) 646-3272 or


Ron Estes is a 5th generation Kansan and represents Kansas’ 4th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives. He serves on the House Committee on Ways and Means.