By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Great Bend City Council seat decided by write-in vote
GB city office

 Cory Zimmerman came out in front of a field of three write-in candidates to claim a seat on the Great Bend City Council during last Tuesday’s general election. This was necessary when incumbent Councilman Matt Hiss decided not to seek reelection and no one filed for the position. 

Of the 57 votes cast, Zimmerman received 16. As for the other two office seekers, Doug Keiswetter garnered 15 votes and Thomas Boor 12.

These results were published on the Barton County Clerk’s website and are official following Monday’s canvassing of the votes by the County Commission acting as the county Board of Canvassers.

In the other council wards:

• Incumbent Vicki Berryman ran unopposed, receiving 109 votes to retain her Ward 1 seat. There were also four write-in ballots.

• Incumbent Joel B. Jackson ran unopposed in Ward 2 getting 106 votes. There were also three write-ins. 104

• In the Ward 4, incumbent Erika Julian did not run. The seat was won by Brock McPherson who received 49 votes. There were also three write-ins.