By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Primary a story of surprises and low turnout
new deh election main pic
Election volunteer Alice Walter, foreground, offers instructions to voter Linda Francis Tuesday afternoon at the Barton County Courthouse. Voters went to the polls Tuesday for a primary election that included several contested races. - photo by DALE HOGG Great Bend Tribune

The Tuesday’s primary election is a wrap. The polls closed at 7 p.m. and the Barton County Clerk’s office started continually updating posted results throughout the evening.
County Clerk Donna Zimmerman said voter turnout was 23.91. Her office reported that of the 17,061 registered voters in the county, 4,080 voted – 509 Democrats and 3,571 Republicans.
 However, Zimmerman noted, the numbers reported Tuesday are unofficial. The Barton County Commission will meet as the Board of County Canvassers at 8:30 a.m. Monday in Zimmerman’s office to canvass ballots and finalize the votes.
Below are the election results posted by the County Clerk’s Office and the Kansas Secretary of State’s Office – and –  as of presstime Tuesday night.  
The precinct and township results will be printed in Thursday’s Tribune.
 • Barton County Commission
First District – Kenny Schremmer, 581
Fourth District – Alicia (Schartz) Straub, 420, and Ken Lebbin, 394
Fifth District – Dean Akings, 440, and Jennifer Schartz, 521
• U.S. Senate
Chad Taylor, Democrat, Topeka, 239
Patrick Wiesner, Democrat, Lawrence, 229
Pat Roberts, Republican, Dodge City, 1,802
D.J. Smith, Republican, Osawatomie, 122
Milton Wolf, Republican, Leawood, 1.237
Alvin E. Zahnter, Republican, Russell, 348
• U.S. House of Representatives, District 1
James E. Sherow, Democrat, Manhattan, 222
Bryan R. Whitney, Democrat, Wichita, 241
Tim Huelskamp, Republican, Fowler, 1,830
Alan LaPolice, Republican, Clyde, 1,648
• Kansas governor/lieutenant governor
Paul Davis / Jill Docking , Democrat, Topeka, 462
Jennifer Winn/ Robin R. Lais, Republican, Haysville, 1,305
Sam Brownback / Jeff Colyer, Republican, Topeka, 2,176
• Secretary of state
 Jean Kurtis Schodorf, Democrat, Wichita, 425
 Kris Kobach, Republican, Piper, 2,394
Scott Morgan, Republican, Lawrence, 1,021
• Attorney general
A.J. Kotich, Democrat, Topeka, 409
Derek Schmidt, Republican, Independence, 3,000
State treasurer
Carmen Alldritt, Democrat, Topeka, 416
Ron Estes, Republican, Wichita, 2,985
• Commissioner of insurance     
Dennis Anderson, Democrat, Overland Park, 392
Beverly Gossage, Republican, Eudora, 622     
David J. Powell, Republican, El Dorado, 396
Ken Selzer, Republican, Leawood, 805
Clark Shultz, Republican, Lindsborg, 1,288
John M. Toplikar, Republican, Olathe, 130
• Kansas House
District 109
Troy L. Waymaster, Republican, Luray, 289
District 112
Steve Muehleisen, Democrat, Great Bend, 355
John Edmonds, Republican, Great Bend, 2,294
District 113     
Jeremy “Basil” Dannebohm, Republican, Ellinwood, 492
The general election falls on Nov. 4.
State Board or Education District 5
Sally Cauble, Republican, Dodge City, 582
Meg Wilson, Republican, Great Bend, 2,778