The penalty for driving under the influence in Kansas got tougher today, with offenders required to use devices on their vehicles to prevent them from driving while intoxicated.
The Kansas Department of Transportation reports these highlights for the new law:
• Failure of a breath test with a result between .08 and .15, on the first occurrence, is a 30-day suspension followed by six months of ignition interlock device if your record is clear and 12 months of interlock if you have a prior open container violation or three or more moving violations.
• Failure of a breath test with a result over .15 the first time, or over .08 on a second or subsequent occurrence is a one-year suspension followed by ignition interlock (length of interlock is dependent on priors).
• Refusal of a breath, blood or urine test is a one-year suspension, followed by ignition interlock requirement (length of interlock is dependent on priors), regardless of how many prior Kansas DUI occurrences a person has.
The new law also creates a central repository that will give law enforcement, prosecutors and judges access to drivers’ records, making it easier to track repeat offenders. The Kansas Department of Transportation will fund the repository with $2.5 million and the Kansas Bureau of Investigation will oversee it.