By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panther forensics team wins Pratt Sweepstakes
Great Bend High School Forensics started the season by taking first place in the Sweepstakes at the Pratt Invitational tournament on Saturday, Jan. 29. Back row: Lea Nokes, Alondra Alvarez, Xanna Smith, Milena Carbajal, Alexa Sanchez, Thomas Henrikson, Ryan Armendariz. Middle row: Aliyah Fryberger, Adeline Dougherty, Reese King, Darcy Feist. Front row: Isaiah Smith and Malachi Wasson.

The Great Bend High School Forensics Team got off to a fast start to the season last Saturday by taking first place in Sweepstakes at the Pratt Invitational tournament. The Panthers had 24 individual events entered into the competition and 21 of them finished in the top six. Every student on the team brought home at least one medal.

The annual tournament featured nine schools from south-central Kansas. 

GBHS Forensics Coach Kim Heath said she was proud of the dedication of her students. “There is not much turn-around time between the State debate tournament and the forensics season. My students have been pushing themselves hard to be ready for this early competition. I am very proud of the hours and the work that these students have dedicated to their performances.”

To qualify for the state tournament in May, students must place 1st or 2nd at any invitational tournament. Five students from Great Bend have already qualified for state in seven different events.     

Duet Acting

Malachi Wasson and Isaiah Smith - 1st

Milena Carbajal / Alondra Alvarez - 3rd

Lea Nokes / Aliyah Fryberger - 5th

Humorous Solo Acting

Thomas Henrikson - 2nd

Malachi Wasson - 3rd

Serious Solo Acting

Xanna Smith - 6th

Prose Interpretation

Darcy Feist - 3rd

Poetry Interpretation

Isaiah Smith - 1st

Milena Carbajal - 6th

Informative Speaking

Adeline Dougherty - 1st

Xanna Smith - 2nd

Reese King - 3rd

Original Oratory

Darcy Feist - 1st

Alondra Alvarez - 3rd

Ryan Armendariz - 4th

Extemporaneous Speaking

Adeline Dougherty - 4th

Ryan Armendariz - 5th

Impromptu Speaking

Malachi Wasson - 2nd

Isaiah Smith - 3rd

Alexa Sanchez - 5th

Thomas Henrikson - 6th