By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Pawnee County commission approves minutes
Placeholder Image

 LARNED — The Pawnee County Commission met at 9 a.m. Feb. 6 for a regular meeting at the Pawnee County Courthouse. The following are approved minutes submitted by Pawnee Commission clerk Ruth Searight.
9 a.m. — Pawnee County commissioners Donna Pelton and Kathy Bowman and John C. Haas were present.
• Commissioners sorted through mail.
• John Settle, Pawnee County attorney, discussed county business.
• Commissioners discussed Key Gas, Mark G. Ayesh, BGB and Bear Petroleum.
• Kurt Demel, Pawnee County highway administrator, gave updates on departments.
• Commissioners approved and signed checks for payables.
1:30 p.m. — Carl Miller, Pawnee County appraiser, discussed three statutes that affects Pawnee County. He discussed severed minerals.
1:55 p.m. — Commissioners signed a payroll change form for Kim Liston, Level IV, to step 2, effective Feb. 6.
• Lee Hockett stopped by to visit.
• Commissioners approved that all of the RV hookups at Camp Pawnee will be on the honor system for the 2012 season, $12 per space, for a 24-hour period from noon on the first day, until noon on the next day.
• Scott King, Pawnee County sheriff, gave an update on Pawnee County jail population. He informed them of his department now using the Kansas setoff program.
• Commissioners approved and signed additional checks for payables.
• Settle gave updates on county business.
• Kim Barnes stopped by and discussed Kansas legislative re-districting.
• Matt Heyn, Pawnee Valley Community Hospital administrator, gave an update on the January PVCH payment to the bond trustee for $88,083.
Heyn gave an update on the gross of $2.5 million for PVCH in January. Heyn informed commissioners of Lewis Young commitment of additional dollars to put with the tax credit monies to purchase a 64-slice CT scanner with low radiation for the new hospital in honor of his late wife Pat Young.
5:15 p.m. — The meeting was adjourned. The next meeting was scheduled Feb. 13.