By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Slate of primary candidates finalized
Several candidates vying for commission seats
new deh primary candidate filing pic web
With the primary election Tuesday, the Barton County Clerk’s Office reminds voters of the polling places. - photo by Tribune file photo

Noon Wednesday was the deadline for candidates to file their intent to run in advance of the Tuesday, Aug. 2, primary election. The filings included multiple candidates for each of the three County Commission seats up for grabs.  

The general election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 8. 

Below is the list of those who have filed in Barton County for the commission, county clerk and township clerks, according to the County Clerk’s Office. 

Not included are those who filed for the Republican and Democratic precinct men and women. 

These elections are always decided during the primary and are not in the general election.

County Commission

• First District

Jeffery Donecker, Republican

Matthew Gerritzen, Republican

Linda M. Moeder, Republican

Rick Nulton, Republican

Duane Reif, Republican

• Fourth District

Jon L. Prescott, Republican

Tricia Schlessiger, Republican

• Fifth District

Rick Davis, Republican

Donna Zimmerman, Republican

County clerk

Bev Schmeidler, Republican

Townwhip clerks

Albion Township, Ronald (Rocky) Meitner, Republican

Beaver Township, Scott Schlochtermeier, Republican

Buffalo Township, no filings

Cheyenne Township, no filings

Clarence Township, Dennis D. Comer, Republican

Cleveland Township, no filings

Comanche Township, Linda Borror, Republican

Eureka Township, no filings

Fairview Township, no filings

Grant Township, no filings

Great Bend Township, R.L. Engle, Republican

North Homestead Township, no filings

South Homestead Township, no filings

Independent Township, no filings

Lakin Township, no filings

Liberty Township, no filings

Logan Township, Joseph V. Zink, Republican

Pawnee Rock Township, no filings

South Bend Township, Darren Nicolet, Republican

Walnut Albert Township, no filings

Walnut Olmitz Township, no filings

Wheatland Township, Tim Maier, Republican

Union Township,  Marty Michaelis and Justin Ludwig. both  Republicans

Voter registration deadline July 12

Voter registration for the Aug. 2 Barton County primary closes end of the business day Tuesday, July 12, according to the County Clerk’s Office. 

Early voting is available through the o Clerk’s Office which may begin Wednesday, July 13. It ends at noon on Monday the day before the election. 

Advance voting by mail is available by application through the Barton County Clerk’s Office. Mailing of advance ballots will start Wednesday, July 13.   

Ballots must to be returned to Barton County Clerk’s office by 7 p.m. on election day or If returning by mail, the ballot must be postmarked by election day. Ballots may be returned to one’s polling location on election day, 

Polling locations are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day only.

For more information, call the Clerk’s Office at 620-793-1835.