By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Denver leads with league-high nine Pro Bowl selections
spt ap Pro Bowl
Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning was selected for his 14th Pro Bowl selection on Tuesday. - photo by AP Photo

NEW YORK (AP) — The AFC West champion Denver Broncos led the NFL with nine players selected for the Pro Bowl on Tuesday.
Quarterback Peyton Manning was picked for the 14th time. Joining Manning from the Broncos will be Ryan Clady, Chris Harris, Von Miller, Aqib Talib, Demaryius Thomas, Julius Thomas, T.J. Ward and DeMarcus Ware. Denver also led the league with five defensive players selected.
The NFC East champion Dallas Cowboys were second with six selections for the Jan. 25 game in Glendale, Arizona, site of the Super Bowl.
Tony Romo will be going for the fourth time. Dez Bryant, Travis Frederick, Zack Martin, DeMarco Murray and Tyron Smith were also honored.
Dallas led the NFL with six offensive players chosen.
Other notable players selected included Super Bowl-winning quarterbacks New England’s Tom Brady (10th selection), Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers (fourth), and Pittsburgh’s Ben Roethlisberger (third).
Among the players earning first selections are wide receivers T.Y. Hilton of the Colts and Jordy Nelson of the Packers; Steelers running back Le’Veon Bell; and Eagles special teams star Darren Sproles.
Martin, Aaron Donald of St. Louis and C.J. Mosley of Baltimore were the rookies selected.
Arian Foster was one of two Houston Texans honored, along with defensive end J.J. Watt.
“It is kind of the league’s elite,” Foster said. “It’s a place where you can meet the best in the business and learn from their experiences. It’s a place where the league’s elite are selected and it’s an honor.”
The Super Bowl champion Seattle Seahawks were one of six teams with five players. Not enough, according to one of their stars.
“It’s kind of frustrating because you sometimes feel like your teammates are getting punished for being on a good team,” defensive back Richard Sherman said.
“Your linebackers are getting punished for not having a D-line that allows them to make 130, 140 tackles. Your D-line is being punished because everybody is not going to get 10 sacks or one guy is not going to get 14, 15 sacks — that’s difficult to get on a team like this. You just feel for guys.”
Among the players not selected were Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson, Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers, Packers running back Eddie Lacy and Giants rookie receiver Odell Beckham Jr., who has 1,120 yards.
For the second consecutive season, players will be selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players.
Hall of Famers Cris Carter and Michael Irvin will serve as alumni team captains for their Pro Bowl teams.
The Pro Bowl will be held prior to the Super Bowl for the sixth consecutive year.

At University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Ariz.
Sunday, Jan. 25

Quarterbacks (6)
Tom Brady, New England; Andrew Luck, Indianapolis; Peyton Manning, Denver; Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay; Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh; Tony Romo, Dallas.

Wide Receivers (8)
Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; Dez Bryant, Dallas; A.J. Green, Cincinnati; x-T.Y. Hilton, Indianapolis; Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Julio Jones, Atlanta; x-Jordy Nelson, Green Bay; Demaryius Thomas, Denver.

Running Backs (6)
x-Le’Veon Bell, Pittsburgh; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City; Arian Foster, Houston; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle; LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia; DeMarco Murray, Dallas.

Fullbacks (2)
John Kuhn, Green Bay; Marcel Reece, Oakland.

Tight Ends (4)
Jimmy Graham, New Orleans; Rob Gronkowski, New England; x-Greg Olsen, Carolina; Julius Thomas, Denver.

Tackles (6)
Ryan Clady, Denver; Jason Peters, Philadelphia; Tyron Smith, Dallas; Joe Staley, San Francisco; Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Trent Williams, Washington.

Guards (6)
Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Kyle Long, Chicago; x-Zack Martin, Dallas; Josh Sitton, Green Bay; Marshal Yanda, Baltimore.

Centers (4)
x-Travis Frederick, Dallas; x-Jason Kelce, Philadelphia; Nick Mangold, New York Jets; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.

Defensive Ends (6)
x-Calais Campbell, Arizona; Robert Quinn, St. Louis; Cameron Wake, Miami; DeMarcus Ware, Denver; J.J. Watt, Houston; Mario Williams, Buffalo.

Interior Linemen (6)
Marcell Dareus, Buffalo; x-Aaron Donald, St. Louis; Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Dontari Poe, Kanas City; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit; Kyle Williams, Buffalo.

Outside Linebackers (6)
x-Connor Barwin, Philadelphia; Elvis Dumervil, Baltimore; Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Justin Houston, Kansas City; Clay Matthews, Green Bay; Von Miller, Denver.

Linebackers (4)
Luke Kuechly, Carolina; x-C.J. Mosley, Baltimore; x-Lawrence Timmons, Pittsburgh; x-Bobby Wagner, Seattle.

Cornerbacks (8)
x-Vontae Davis, Indianapolis; Brent Grimes, Miami; Joe Haden, Cleveland; x-Chris Harris, Denver; Patrick Peterson, Arizona; Darrelle Revis, New England; Richard Sherman, Seattle; Aqib Talib, Denver.

Free Safeties (4)
x-Tashaun Gipson, Cleveland; x-Glover Quin, Detroit; Earl Thomas, Seattle; Eric Weddle, San Diego.

Strong Safeties (2)
Kam Chancellor, Seattle; T.J. Ward, Denver.

Punters (2)
x-Kevin Huber, Cincinnati; x-Pat McAfee, Indianapolis.

Placekickers (2)
Stephen Gostkowski, New England; Adam Vinatieri, Indianapolis.

Return Specialists (2)
Devin Hester, Atlanta; x-Darren Sproles, Philadelphia.

Special Teamers (2)
Justin Bethel, Arizona; Matthew Slater, New England.

(x-first-time selection)