By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Farm Bureau holds 96th annual meeting
agri lgp farmbureaumeetingpic1
Barton County Farm Bureau President, Kyle Schartz, presents Virgil and Diane Zink with 2014 Century Farm sign. Virgil and Diane Zink are part of the two percent of the nations population that provide the food, fiber and fuel for the other ninety eight percent of the people. The Zinks farm the original 320 acres, west of Claflin, purchased by Virgils grandparents Anton and Priska Zink, from ATSF Railroad in 1878 for $2.70 an acre.

Kansas Farm Bureau President Steve Baacus and his wife Patricia, as well as Kansas Farm Bureau Executive Director Terry Holdren and his wife Natalie were special guests at the Barton County Farm Bureau annual dinner meeting held Friday evening, Aug. 15 at the Barton Community College Student Union.
Members and guests were present for the presentation of the Barton County Farm Family Of The Year Award to Michael and Terri Bahr. The Bahr’s sons Ike and Tommy were present also.
The association also presented the 2014 Friend To Agriculture Award to the Great Bend Chamber Agriculture Committee tor for its efforts to educate the fourth graders of Barton County at Kids Ag Day each year.
In addition, Virgil and Diane Zink were honored as Century Farm recipients.
The formal business of the association was conducted concluding with election of new officers, board of directors, and delegates to the Kansas Farm Bureau Annual Meeting. The board members for the upcoming year are Brad Birzer, president, Tim Maier, vice-president, Michelle Bearn, treasurer, and County Coordinator Jerry Esfeld serves as secretary for the association. The Board of Directors includes Chris Clasen, Andrew Sieker, Shane Dicks, Fawna Henke, Lora Zink,Tom Burns and Sharon Hiss.