By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Farmers and ranchers assume leadership roles
Placeholder Image

Several Farm Bureau members in Kansas have taken state committee leadership positions within their farm organization.
Kansas Farm Bureau’s Environment and Natural Resources Committee advises the KFB Board of Directors on issues and concerns related to the environment and natural resources. New members include Scott Gordon, Montgomery County; Stanley Kats, Phillips County; Wayne Powell, Meade County; and Clayton Janicke, Cheyenne County.
The KFB Resolutions Committee’s mission is geared directly to the policy positions (resolutions) of the organization. The committee surfaces and directs study on issues important to members of county Farm Bureaus and develops tentative resolutions for consideration by voting delegates at the farm organization’s annual meeting. New members include Dr. Darrell Monfort, Allen County; Greg Love, Gray County; and Chris Tanner, Norton County.
Members elected to the Women’s Leadership Committee are Debbie Kueser, Anderson County, Susan Long, Cowley County; Marylyn Bell, Lincoln County; Sheryl MacNair, Hodgeman County; and Susan May, Decatur County. The committee is led by Marieta Hauser, Grant County, who also serves as Member-at-Large on the KFB Board of Directors. The committee contributes an essential perspective to the organization, broadening opportunities for women to become involved in all aspects of Farm Bureau, actively participating in the implementation of priority issues involving agriculture education, improving the quality of life in rural communities, promotion of the industry and agricultural advocacy.
New members of the Young Farmers & Ranchers State Committee include Jarrod and Sarah Bowser, Jackson County; Caleb and Janet Phillips, Labette County; Sam and Nicole Shrack, Dickinson County, Matt and Janna Splitter, Rice County; and Jeff and Azuree Jones, Stanton County. On Dec. 4, committee members elected Katherine Franklin, Sherman County, as chair. Mark Bergkamp, Sedgwick County, will serve as Vice Chair; Sara Rosebrook, Lincoln County, will be Secretary.
The Young Farmers & Ranchers are hard-working agriculture professionals dedicated to developing their leadership skills and empowering others to become actively involved in agriculture advocacy, promotion and education. The group will host its Leaders Conference Jan. 24-26 in Manhattan.
Members elected to the board of the Voters Organized to Elect Farm Bureau Friends (VOTE FBF) were Neil Coufal, Doniphan County; Kyle Rennie, Cherokee County; Jarold Hayden, Cloud County; John Kuszmaul, Kingman County; and Jarvis Garetson, Haskell County.
Kansas Farm Bureau represents grassroots agriculture. Established in 1919, this non-profit advocacy organization supports farm families who earn their living in a changing industry.