By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Farmers and ranchers finish business at annual meeting in Manhattan
Placeholder Image

Today more than 380 Farm Bureau members of Kansas wrapped up business for their farm organization after debating and adopting policy statements for 2015. These policies will now become the organization’s roadmap for the 2015 legislative session.
 Topics of discussion at the 96th Annual Kansas Farm Bureau Meeting included:  protection of private data, expanding opportunities for Kansas agriculture, endangered species, transportation funding and energy.
 Richard Felts, Montgomery County, was elected president of the organization. Nemaha County farmer Jeff Grossenbacher was elected as vice president. Others elected to the board of directors include:
• George Pretz, Miami County
• Bob Voegele, Cowley County
• Doug Zillinger, Phillips County
• Joe Jury, Gray County
• Gerald Franklin, Sherman County
On Mon., Dec. 1, Gov. Sam Brownback, U.S. Senators Pat Roberts and Jerry Moran thanked retiring President Steve Baccus for his service to the industry during his tenure with the state’s largest farm organization. American Farm Bureau Federation President Bob Stallman also honored Pres. Baccus for his years of service to the organization at the local, state, national and international levels.
Members contributed more than $20,000 to the Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture through silent and live auctions. Other activities included a host of agriculture-related workshops presented by national experts and Kansas Farm Bureau staff. County Farm Bureaus and volunteers were recognized for their 2014 achievements.