By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Live. Laugh. Farm. sets theme for Kansas Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers Leaders Conference
Placeholder Image

More than 500 young farmers and gathered in Manhattan, Jan. 23-25, for the 2015 Kansas Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers (YF&R) Leaders Conference.
“We are so encouraged about the future of agriculture when we see the leadership amongst us during the YF&R Leaders Conference,” Janet Phillips, Labette County and chair of the Young Farmers & Ranchers committee, says. “We had great attendance for the three days of keynote speakers, competitions, 15 workshops, off-sight tours, a trade show and lots of networking.”
Competition winners included:
YF&R Discussion Meet
1. Jeanne Falk Jones, Cheyenne Colo.
2  Garret Schreiber, Jackson Colo.
3. Kelsey Pagel, Jackson Colo.
4. Kayla Schreiber, Jackson Colo.
The YF&R Discussion Meet challenges young producers to analyze agricultural issues and decide on solutions that best meet their needs. The competition is designed to simulate a committee meeting where discussion and active participation are expected from each participant. Jones received a cash prize and will compete in the national contest at the 2016 AFBF Annual Meeting in Orlando, Jan. 10-13, 2016.
Collegiate Discussion Meet
1. Leigh Ann Maurath, Kansas State University
2. Megan Finlay, Fort Hays State University
3. Levi Clubine, Coffeyville Community College
4. Amy Verner, Fort Hays State University
Maurath won a cash prize and will compete in the national contest at the 2016 YF&R Conference in Kansas City, Mo., Feb. 9-16, 2016.
Collegiate Ag Quiz Bowl
Fort Hays State University team members: Luke Bellars, Ryan Kinsler, Levi Prieb and Austin Schweizer
Kansas Farm Bureau state committee members include Jarrod and Sarah Bowser, Jackson County; Jake and Amy Strobel, Anderson County; Caleb and Janet Phillips, Labette County; Craig and Megan Pringle, Cowley County; Sam and Nicole Shrack, Dickinson County; Josh and Lori Bohnert, Jewell County; Matt and Janna Splitter, Rice County; Ryan and Traci Reed, Gray County; Jeff and Azuree Jones, Stanton County; and Evan Lesser, Graham County.
Kansas Farm Bureau represents grassroots agriculture. Established in 1919, this non-profit advocacy organization supports farm families who earn their living in a changing industry.