By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
USDA designates 37 counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas
Placeholder Image

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 37 counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.
Area counties are: Rush, Ness, Hodgeman and Pawnee.                   
“Our hearts go out to those Kansas farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Kansas producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”
Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Kansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those area counties are: Barton, Russell and Stafford.