By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force announces Challenge Award recipients
gbtribune news logo anvil app

 TOPEKA — The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force has named 92 schools as recipients of the 2019 Challenge Awards.

Area schools receiving awards are: Lyons Central Elementary School and Lyons Middle School, Lyons, USD 405; and Macksville Elementary School, Macksville, USD 351. 

The awards recognize Kansas schools that are making a notable difference in student achievement despite facing significant challenges in their school population. Since its inception in 2002, more than 1,700 awards have been presented to schools across the state.

Certificates of Merit were presented to schools by Kansas State Board of Education members. 

The Challenge Award recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishments based on Kansas assessment results in math and reading, graduation rates, chronic absenteeism rates and the socio-economic status of those taking the test. 

The Confidence in Public Education Task Force is a nonprofit corporation whose primary purpose is to strengthen confidence in Kansas public education and to increase awareness of the positive aspects of public education in the state. The Task Force was created in 1981.

Members of the Task Force include American Association of University Women; Kansas PTA; Kansas Association of School Boards; Kansas National Education Association; Kansas State Board of Education; Kansas State High School Activities Association; Kansas Partners in Education; League of Women Voters – Kansas; and United School Administrators of Kansas. 

For more information about the Challenge Awards program, call Tamla Miller at (785) 296-4950.