By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FHSU Student Recognition Programs for 2012 begin in Garden City, Dodge City on Jan. 15
Placeholder Image

This year’s edition of Fort Hays State University’s annual 13-city, two-month Student Recognition Program will begin in Garden City and Dodge City on Jan. 15, swing into Colorado and Nebraska, and end in Colby on March 5. The highlight at each event is the recognition of scholarship winners.
High school juniors and seniors and transfer students in Kansas, Nebraska and Colorado have been invited to SRPs in their areas. The programs are held in communities across Kansas, in southern Nebraska and in Denver to accommodate area students and their parents and guardians.
Any student who lives outside the designated SRP areas (listed in the schedule at the end of this news release) is welcome to attend the nearest SRP but must RSVP by calling 1-800-628-FHSU (3478) or 785-628-5666 or by signing up online at
Receptions hosted by FHSU alumni in each locale include dessert or pizza buffets provided by the FHSU Alumni Association. Students and their parents have the opportunity to mingle with FHSU faculty, staff and administrators and with area FHSU alumni before and after the scholarship presentations.
Many high school seniors and transfer students will receive certificates for a variety of scholarships awarded to them by FHSU.
FHSU alumni and other interested community members are also encouraged to attend.
Scholarships to be awarded at this event include the $1,200 Miller Black and Gold Academic Award and the $800 Hays City Silver Academic Award. Both are renewable provided students maintain the minimum required academic standing. Also to be awarded are the $2,000 Presidential Scholarship, the $700 Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award and the $500 Copper Academic Award, all of which are one-time scholarships awarded only to incoming freshmen enrolling in college for the first time. Also awarded are the $1,000 Transfer Student Scholarship, which is also a one-time award.
Students can also receive $500 or $900 Academic Opportunity Awards, given to scholars by individual academic departments.
Each SRP event features a multimedia presentation by FHSU President Edward H. Hammond and two drawings -- one for a $400 FHSU Student Recognition Program Scholarship and another for a laptop computer. Four $400 SRP scholarships will be awarded at the reception in Hays.
The SRP schedule that follows includes the area served at each program site.
Great Bend, 6:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 20, at the Highland Hotel, 3017 W. 10th St. Dessert will be served. The RSVP deadline is Feb. 16.
Students invited to the Great Bend SRP are from Barton, Pawnee, Pratt, Rice, Russell and Stafford counties and from Bison and Otis in Rush County.