By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
The tradition continues: 80 students receive 2011-2012 K-State Legacy Scholarships
Placeholder Image

Being the child or grandchild of a Kansas State University alumnus can pay off in a big way, thanks to the K-State Alumni Association and the university’s license plate program.
Recipients of the alumni association’s Legacy Scholarships were recognized during a halftime presentation at the K-State football game Sept. 3 at Bill Snyder Family Stadium.
The $1,000 scholarships were awarded to 80 children and grandchildren of K-State alumni for the 2011-12 academic year. K-State students receiving the scholarship are incoming freshmen, current and transfer students, and both in-state and out-of-state students. Applicants are considered if at least one parent or grandparent is a K-State alumnus, with preference given to members of the alumni association.
“Alumni across Kansas and the nation have encouraged the university and association to address tuition issues of legacy students, and this program greatly assists us in those efforts,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The association’s board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State.”
The scholarships are made possible through funds generated by the K-State license plate program, administered by the association for the university.
The state-issued license plates with the purple Powercat logo can be found on the back of more than 3,000 cars, light trucks and farm vehicles in the state of Kansas. The program, administered locally in all 105 county treasurer offices, began in 1997. The tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State license plates has raised more than $1.5 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements.
Local Legacy Scholarship recipients for 2011-2012 include: Cindy Stueder and Sarah Stueder, both of Claflin; Sarah Kratzer, of Geneseo; Ryan McCullick, of Hays; Koltin Howard-Talbott, of Lindsborg; and Mckenzie Gee, of Stafford.