By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Exceptional faculty recognized with Distinguished Instructor Awards
Placeholder Image

Five Barton Community College instructors earned the Distinguished Instructor Award for the 2014-2015 school year for their efforts in the classroom.
The winners are:
• Vincent Orth, Natural Gas Program Instructor at the Barton County campus
• Gerry Butler, Physical and Social Sciences Instructor at the Fort Riley campus
• Jim Turner, Associate Math Instructor at the Fort Riley campus
• Anne Krebs, Leader Skills Enhancement Courses Instructor at the Fort Leavenworth campus
• Todd Mobray, Digital photography, Image Editing and Video Instructor for
The Distinguished Instructor Award for full-time faculty was created in 1984 to recognize teaching excellence. Faculty members are nominated by their peers and then evaluated by a committee including Barton students, a previous Distinguished Instructor Award recipient, members of the Barton Foundation, Board of Trustees and community members. The committee considers each instructor’s contributions to teaching and learning, the college mission and the community.
In 2003, the President’s staff recognized the many contributions of Barton’s associate faculty members by establishing the Distinguished Instructor Award for associate faculty as well.
A plaque reflecting the names of the award recipients is displayed in Barton’s Office of Instruction and Student Services.