By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Marshall named to House Ag Committee
Congressional, ag leaders welcome announcement
new deh Marshall mug
Roger Marshall

 WASHINGTON, D.C.– Newly elected First District Congressman Roger Marshall Tuesday was selected to be a member of the House Committee on Agriculture for the 115th United States Congress, his office announced Wednesday morning.

“It’s a big honor,it’s a reward, it’s something the people of Kansas have come to expect,” said Marshall, a Great Bend Republican who won the seat in November. “I’m just excited for Kansas to have a voice back on the Ag Committee.”

Kansas was last represented on the committee in 2013 until Marshall’s predecessor Fowler Republican Tim Huelskamp was ousted following public run-ins with House leadership. The district had maintained a seat on the House Ag Committee for the last century, with the exception of the last 3 years.

Now, Marshall said he’s just ready to get to work “after talking about this for two years.” The House Ag Committee will see important legislation in the 115th Congress, such as the formation of the next Farm Bill, which will impact crop insurance and food safety. The Committee will also take up issues regarding trade in the coming year. 

“As the biggest agricultural producing district in the country, the other people on the ag committee look to us,” he said. Everything from wheat to milo to livestock to ethanol are all very important to the Big First, the state and the nation.

“We committed to getting the Big 1st a seat back on the Ag Committee,” Congressman Marshall said. “I’m proud to be able to say today that we have delivered on that promise.”

“I am pleased to have a Kansan on the House Agriculture Committee representing the Big First, one of the nation’s largest agriculture producing congressional districts,” said Senator Pat Roberts. “Congressman Marshall will be key to the consideration of the next Farm Bill. I am glad to have him in the House riding shotgun for Kansas’ farmers and ranchers.”

This is Roberts’ second term serving as chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee. Roberts is the only member of Congress in history to hold the titles of both Senate and House agriculture committee chairman and ranking member.

Throughout what was a bitter primary campaign with incumbent Huelskamp, Marshall garnered the support of several ag organizations. They have also responded to his appointment.

“We are excited to welcome Dr. Marshall to the House Agriculture Committee,” said Richard Felts, president of the Kansas Farm Bureau. The Big First in Kansas has a long history on the committee, including two former chairmen, Clifford Hope and Pat Roberts, and a long list of other leaders including Bob Dole and Jerry Moran. 

“The appointment of Congressman Marshall to the U.S. House Committee on Agriculture could not have come at a more important time,” said Matt Teagarden, CEO of the Kansas Livestock Association. “His input on behalf of Kansas livestock producers will be vital as Congress deals with serious issues including onerous regulations and a new Farm Bill.” 

Marshall, an obstetrician/gynecologist, was also named to the Committee on Science and Technology.