By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Process begins to name new County Commissioner
Placeholder Image

The Fourth District of Barton County will hold a convention of eligible voting delegates to name a Barton County Commissioner for the unexpired term of Don Cates at 7:30 p.m. on May 12 at the Barton County courthouse. The meeting is open to the public.
Cates died in a plane crash on April 22. The new commissioner will fill the position until January 2015.
Cates would have been up for reelection this fall.
“There’s been lots of interest,” said Richard Friedeman, who is the Barton County Republican Committee Chairman. He said they will probably have the candidates speak to the voting delegates.
The district encompasses the Precinct 1 of the Fourth Ward in Great Bend, Ellinwood (Lakin Township), Claflin (Independent Township), and the South Bend, Comanche, Logan and townships.
Friedeman explained the process. He said the convention would adopt the rules, and then take nominations from the committee.
He encouraged anyone interested in the position to contact him at 792-8231. Those interested in the position must live in the district.
There are 11 eligible delegates in the Fourth District. They include: Richard Friedeman and Janis Friedeman from the Great Bend precinct; Aaron Sauer and Catherine Strecker from Ellinwood; Mark and Kim Connell from Claflin; Kirby Krier from Logan Township; James Stevens and Pam Wornkey from Comanche Township; and David H. and Heather Smith from South Bend Township.
At the meeting, the delegates will offer up names of candidates which will be voted on via secret ballot. A simple majority wins, and balloting will continue until a winner is chosen.