By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates file for local offices
No primaries necessary in April election
city ward map.gif
Above are the four Great Bend City Council wards. There is one position in each ward up for election in April. - photo by JOSH KELLER Great Bend Tribune

The deadline to file for the April local election was noon Monday, and the Barton County Clerk’s Office has compiled the list of those who have tossed their hats into the ring.
There will be a general election for city council positions in the cities of Great Bend, Hoisington, and Ellinwood, and to elect two positions for the Ellinwood Hospital District Board of Trustees. 
Due to the number of candidates who filed, there is no need for a primary. Had one been necessary, it would have taken place Feb. 25.
Those who have filed include:
Great Bend
(Four City Council positions  – one in each ward)
• Victoria Berryman, Ward 1 (This would be Nels Lindberg’s seat, but he is not running.)
• Joel B. Jackson (incumbent), Ward 2
• No Filings, Ward 3 (This would be Ken Roberts’ seat, but he is not running.) With no filings, it will probably mean there will be write-in candidates.
• Erika Jo Julian, Ward 4 (This is would be Randy Myers’ seat, but is not running.)
(Four City Council positions – one in each ward)
• Nancy D. Farmer, Ward 1
• James Sekavec, Ward 2
• Karen Van Brimmer, Ward 3
• Brian K. Wilborn, Ward 4
All those who filed are incumbents.
(Three at-large City Council positions)
• Rick Wilson (incumbent)
• Kenneth A. Lebbin
• Kathleen Marie Hines (incumbent)
• Kirk Clawson (incumbent)
Ellinwood Hospital District
(two at-large positions)
The Ellinwood Hospital District includes all of Lakin Township (including Ellinwood City) and all of Comanche Township except the west two tiers.
• Marvin C. Sessler (incumbent)
• Leah Dannebohm
Lloyd Kurtz’s term was up, but he did not re-file.
Any questions concerning the election or candidate qualifications may be directed to the County Clerk’s Office at 620-793-1835.