By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Public Building Commission appointed
Placeholder Image

LARNED — The Pawnee County Commission met in a special session March 11, 2011. The following are approved minutes from the commission clerk Ruth Searight.
Pawnee County commissioners Donna Pelton, Becky Bowman and John Haas were present. Chairman Bowman declared that a quorum was present and called the meeting to order.
John Settle, Pawnee County attorney, informed commissioners that Charter Resolution No. 14, exempting Pawnee County from the provisions of K.S.A. 12-1758 and K.S.A. 12-1767b relating to Public Building Commissions and the issuance of revenue bonds thereby, and providing substitute and additional provisions relating thereto, was adopted on December 27, 2010, and was published December 28, 2010, and again January 4, 2011, and 60 days has passed, and no petition has been filed demanding that the Charter Resolution be submitted to a vote of the electors.
Thereupon, there was presented a Resolution entitled, “A Resolution Creating the Pawnee County, Kansas Public Building Commission
and Establishing the Purpose, Composition, Powers, Functions and Duties Thereof.”
Thereupon, Commissioner Pelton moved that said Resolution be adopted. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Haas.
Said Resolution was duly read and considered, and upon being put, The motion for the passage of said Resolution was carried by the 3-0 vote of the Board of County Commissioners.
Thereupon, the Resolution, having been received at least a majority vote of the members-elect of the board, Chairman Bowman declared said Resolution duly adopted and the Resolution was then duly numbered Resolution No. 2011-05 and was approved and signed by the commissioners and attested by the County Clerk.
Thereupon, there was presented the matter of appointing the members to the Public Building Commission as set forth in Resolution No. 2011-05 of the County.  Each commissioner presented the following persons and their prospective terms of office:
Commissioner Haas appointed  Dick King for a term from 2011 to 2015. Commissioner Bowman appointed Tom Giessel for a term from 2009-2013. Commissioner Pelton appointed Tim George for a term from 2009-2013. 
Thereupon, Commissioner Haas moved that said appointments and terms of office be approved. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Pelton. Said motion was duly considered, and upon being put, the motion for approval was carried by the 3-0 vote of the board.
The meeting was adjourned.