By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Tuesday is deadline for voter registration
election vote here sign

 Below is the list of those who have filed in Barton County for the Aug. 2 primary.

Office seekers who survive the primary will go on to the general election set for Nov. 8.

In Barton County, according to the County Clerk’s Office, the filings include:

County Commission

• 2nd District                           

Homer Kruckenberg, Republican

Sharon Wondra, Republican

Hannelore Kitts, Republican

• 3rd District

Don Davis, Republican


County attorney

Amy Schartz Mellor, Republican


County clerk

Donna Zimmerman, Republican


County register of deeds

Pam Wornkey, Republican


County sheriff

Brian J. Bellendir, Republican

County treasurer

James E. Jordan, Republican

According to the Kansas Secretary of State’s Office, the national level, candidates are:

United States Senate

• Monique Singh, Democrat, Kansas City 

• Patrick Wiesner, Democrat, Lawrence 

• Jerry Moran, Republican , Hays  

• DJ Smith, Republican, Osawatomie  

United States House of Representatives District 1 

• Tim Huelskamp, Republican, Fowler 

• Roger Marshall, Republican, Great Bend 

State level, the candidates are:

Kansas House District 112

Tory M. Arnberger, Republican, Great Bend

Kansas House District 113 

• Greg Lewis, Republican, St. John 

• Jon L. Prescott, Republican, Ellinwood

Kansas House District 114 

• Herchel A. Crainer III, Republican, Hutchinson

• Jack Thimesch, Republican, Spivey

Kansas Senate District 33

• Matt Bristow, Democrat, Ellinwood 

• Larry D. Salmans, Republican, Hanston 

• Mary Jo Taylor, Republican, Stafford

Kansas Senate District 34

• Homer L. Gilson, Democrat, Hutchinson

• Edward E. Berger, Republican, Hutchinson 

• Terry Bruce, Republican, Nickerson

Kansas Senate District 35

• Levi Morris, Democrat, Lyons  

• Richard Wilborn, Republican, McPherson  

District Court judge District 20

• Steve Johnson, Republican, Great Bend 

• Mike Keeley, Democrat, Great Bend

District Court magistrate judge District 20

• Verle Willey, Republican, Ellsworth 

• Remington Dalke, Democrat, Lyons 

• Richard Burgess, Republican, Lyons

• Marty K. Clark, Republican, Russell

• Timarie Walters, Republican, Hudson 

 Tuesday is the last day to register to vote for the Aug. 2 primary election, Barton County Clerk Donna Zimmerman said.  

According to the office, voters may register to vote during regular business hours at the following locations:

• Barton County Clerk’s Office, Room 202, 1400 Main, Great Bend

• All City Clerk’s offices in Barton County

• Barton County Farm Bureau Office, 4210 Eighth, Great Bend

• Barton County Health Department, 1300 Kansas, Great Bend

• Credit Union of America, 4708 10th, Great Bend

• First Kansas Bank, 101 North Main, Hoisington

• Front Door, 1615 10th, Great Bend

• Great Bend Public Library, 1409 Williams, Great Bend

• Hoisington Library, 169 South Walnut, Hoisington

• Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services, 1305 Patton Rd., Great Bend

• Kansas Drivers License Examination Department, Barton County Courthouse, 1400 Main, Room 207, Great Bend

• Rosewood Services, 384 North Washington Ave., Great Bend

• Sunflower Diversified Services Inc., 8823 Fourth, Great Bend

• The Center for Counseling and Consultation, 5815 Broadway, Great Bend

Following the close of the primary, Zimmerman said voter registration will again be open for the Nov. 8 general election. That registration deadline is Tuesday, Oct. 18.

For more information, contact the County Clerk’s Office at 620-793-1835.