The Barton County Sheriff’s Office in sponsoring a Carry Conceal Class from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Oct. 20 at the BCSO Range and Training Facility, 396 NE 30 Road.
The Handgun Safety Training Course is an eight hour basic firearms safety class that must be completed first as part of the application process for a Carry Concealed handgun license. Although anyone 21 years old or older can take the course, even though not everyone is eligible to obtain a CCH license.
The instructors are all Kansas law enforcement officers with various backgrounds and years of experience.
Cost of the class is $50; payment is non-refundable and must be paid prior to the day of the class in order to be guaranteed a spot. People may send a check or money order made payable to the BCSO or stop in at 1416 Kansas Ave. to pay in person.
People will need their own reliable working handgun and be able to field strip the handgun in class. They will need a minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition and appropriate eye protection and ear protection.
A light lunch will be provided.