The Barton County Sheriff’s Office will host a carry concealed handgun class on Nov. 16. This is a basic, eight-hour firearm safety class that Kansans must complete prior to application for a carry concealed license from the Kansas Attorney General’s Office.
This is not a tactical handgun class, but does include methods to secure and conceal weapons in accordance with the law, and instruction on loading and unloading handguns.
The instructors for this class will be full-time, sworn, Kansas law enforcement officers and a National Rifle Association certified range master. The curriculum will be in accordance with the Kansas Attorney General’s lesson plan which will be provided to the student.
Applicants must be 21 years of age and a resident of the state. Residents of Barton County will be given first priority. Space is limited. The classroom portion will be approximately five hours, and while there will be no lunch break, a light lunch will be provided.
The classroom portion will be followed by further instruction at the BCSO range and qualification with a firearm provided by the student.
Applications and detailed concealed carry requirement sheets may be picked up at the administrative building of the Sheriff’s Office, located at 1416 Kansas Ave. in Great Bend. There is a $50 fee to cover expenses.