By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Several Panthers are all-conference
Great Bends selections tally up to 12 total
spt mm All WAC HM
All-WAC honorable mention selections from Great Bend. From left, LB Matt Marshall, DB Brock Ibarra, RB Joshua Lopez, QB Mitch Kottas, WR Mauricio Uribe, DB Connor Sell and DL Chad Touslee. - photo by Mack McClure Great Bend Tribune

Great Bend High School’s football team, which finished in a three-way tie for the Western Athletic Conference championship with Hays and Garden City with 3-1 records, placed several Panthers on the All-WAC team.
Selections were made in a vote by league coaches.
The Panthers landed five players on the first team, including senior offensive linemen Tyler Uselton and Jacob Graham. Other first-team picks include senior linebacker Jeremy Sigler, sophomore defensive back Chris Burley and defensive lineman John Verbeck.
Seven Panthers were honorable mention selections, including three seniors: defensive back Connor Sell, wide receiver Mauricio Uribe and quarterback Mitch Kottas. Four Great Bend juniors were also selected, including defensive back Brock Ibarra, defensive end Chad Touslee, linebacker Matt Marshall and running back Josh Lopez.
The Panthers finished the season with a 4-4 record.
Uselton and Graham were pillars on an offensive line that featured a grind-it-out running game and big plays in the Panthers’ passing game.
Sigler was the WAC’s second-leading tackler with 84 tackles, two less than Dodge City’s Todd Middleton (86). Burley finished in a two-way tie for 10th place in the conference with 61 tackles, and Verbeck helped spearhead the Panthers’ defensive front.
Kottas had a WAC-leading 12 touchdown passes while throwing for nearly 1,000 yards, ending up with 956, third in the conference.
Lopez had a team-best 709 rushing yards, fourth in the conference, and totaled nine rushing touchdowns, also fourth in the WAC.
Uribe ranked second in the conference with five touchdown receptions and finished with a team-leading 313 receiving yards.


NAME                    Position    YR     High School
Tyler Uselton            OL            12      Great Bend   
Marcos Gutierres      OL            12      Dodge City   
Brandon Weigel        OL            12      Hays   
Zack Stout                OL            12      Liberal   
Jacob Graham          OL             12     Great Bend   
Trey Hallman           WR            12      Dodge City   
Gerardo Holgein      WR            12     Garden City   
Mark Mathis            RB             12     Hays   
Parker Davis            RB             11     Dodge City   
David Cardinal         RB             11     Hays   
Jake Curran             QB            12     Garden City   
Damian Salem          P/K           12     Dodge City   
Gabe Luna               DL             12      Garden City   
Cade Sharp             DL             11      Hays   
John Verbeck          DL             12      Great Bend   
Zach Binder             DL             12      Hays   
Jeremy Sigler           LB              12      Great Bend   
Kyler Myers            LB              11      Hays   
Todd Middleton      LB              12      Dodge City   
Brady Bean             DB             11      Garden City   
Chris Burley            DB             11      Great Bend   
Asa Gottsponer       DB             12      Garden City   
Steven Fowler         DB             12      Garden City   
Michael Sena          DB             12      Liberal   

Player of the Year               
David Cardinal        RB              11     Hays   

Coach of the Year               
Brian Hill                                            Garden City

NAME                  Year        High School  
Bram Abbott           12            Liberal   
Jesus Esparza          12            Liberal   
Zach Berenz            12            Liberal   
Gabe Beltman          12           Liberal   
Brad Denton            12           Liberal   
Jesse Quintaro         12           Liberal   
Britton Abbott         10           Liberal   
Michael Begley        11           Liberal   
Trent Hammond      10           Liberal   
Josh Rounkles         12           Hays   
Luke Madden         12           Hays   
Chandler Rule         11           Hays   
Adam Deterding     11           Hays   
Jake Sedbrook       11           Hays   
Austin Unrein          12           Hays   
Dylan Scoby           12           Hays   
Isaiah Bradshaw      12          Dodge City   
Taylor Murphy        11          Dodge City   
Matt Schneweis       12          Dodge City   
Dakota Duckett       11          Dodge City   
Jordan Doan            11          Dodge City   
Rodney Rojas          12          Dodge City   
Tim Spencer            12          Dodge City   
Connor Sell             12          Great Bend   
Brock Ibarra           11          Great Bend            

Chad Touslee      11         Great Bend   
Matt Marshall          11         Great Bend   
Mauricio Uribe        12         Great Bend   
Mitch Kottas           12         Great Bend   
Josh Lopez              11        Great Bend   
Taylor Foley            11        Garden City   
John Heiman            12        Garden City   
Antonio Rubio         12        Garden City   
Zach Lamb              12        Garden City   
Andres Rivas           11        Garden City   
Jayden Delarosa      12        Garden City   
Miguel Andrade      12        Garden City   

Selections were made in a vote by WAC coaches