By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GBHS students named Kansas Honor Scholars
Kansas Honor Students GBHS class of 2020
Great Bend High School seniors recognized as Kansas Honor Students are, front row, from left: Dalton Dicks, Hayden Honomichl, Luke Maneth, Shailey Clark, Jenna Mauler, McKenna Esfeld, Bayle Sandy; back row: Ray Kuhlman, Reagan Schridde, Elaine Hernandez, Mayra Ramirez, Karina Mata, Alyssa Herter, Lane Milholland, Daniel Abbott, Patrick Heath, Allen To. Not Pictured: Alexis Folkerts, CJ Gibson and Janneth Lozoya.

The Kansas Honor Scholars from the Class of 2020 have been announced. These students represent the top 10% of their class based on grades earned through the end of their junior year. Twenty Great Bend High School Seniors were among those recognized at a reception on Monday evening at the Stoneridge Country Club.

Since 1971, the KU Alumni Association has sponsored the event. Each year the Kansas Honor Scholars Program recognizes a select group of high school seniors across the state with events in their honor. They are designed to promote academic excellence in secondary education, to reward high school seniors for their hard work and dedication, and to support Kansas communities. 

The evening included speakers, recognition of the scholars, and a reception for scholars, families, school administrators, and alumni. The keynote was delivered by Jennifer Jackson Sanner, senior vice president of public affairs and editor of Kansas Alumni magazine. 

It was a fitting celebration for the scholars’ outstanding academic accomplishments. 

The students received an Honor Scholar Medallion to honor them as a top Kansas high school student. They may wear their medallions during graduation ceremonies next May.