By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FHSU Alumni Association announces nominees for 2017s outstanding graduating senior
Fort Hays State University logo

HAYS — Forty-five graduating seniors at Fort Hays State University have been nominated for the 2017 Torch Award, highest student honor given at FHSU.
The FHSU Alumni Association instituted the Torch Awards in 1974 to emphasize the importance of excellence in learning. It is presented every year at the Graduate and Faculty Luncheon in advance of Commencement.
The Torch Award candidates are nominated by members of the faculty on the basis of classroom excellence, participation in professional organizations and involvement in student or civic activities.
Local nominees include: Claflin, Katie Hipp, majoring in communication sciences and disorders, and Aubrey Kempke majoring in accounting, with a concentration in public accounting; Ellsworth, Anna Hand, majoring in political science, with a business administration minor; Great Bend, Jordan Klima, majoring in finance, with a concentration in financial planning; Hoisington, Matraca Ochs, majoring in English, with a concentration in literature; and Wilson, Ashley Templeton, majoring in organizational leadership, with a sociology minor.